THE BEAUTY AND IMPORTANCE OF POETRY

Poetry cannot be defined just as life, love and art cannot be defined; but it is seen as an evidence of life which mirrors life in written words. The beauty in poetry is hidden in the written words as it requires deep study to uncover it; I will say poetry is beautiful because it gives the illusion of having had the experience without actually going through it.
I spent two hours of my day yesterday studying an extract from a poem I was exposed to in a lecture by William Blake

“To see a world in a grain of sand
And a heaven in a wild flower,
To hold infinity in the palm of your hand
And eternity in an hour.”

During this period, my whole mind and thinking was focused on the lines above, I could read out hundreds of meaning from the lines but deep down I knew there was more to the lines cryptic in there more than I had discovered; and this made me understand and agree with Paul Engle when he said “poetry is ordinary language raised to Nth power. Poetry is boned with ideas, nerved and blooded with emotions all held together by the delicate, tough skin of words.” This whole experience made me realize how beautiful and important poetry was to our lives as it lies its way to the truth in our hearts.

Screenshot_2016-05-13-08-49-40

Poetry is a language in which man explores his own amazement-Christopher Fry; poetry creates beautiful pictures and sounds which gives pleasure and peace especially in nature poems. I believe there is something about poetry beyond prose logic, there is mystery in it not to be explained but admired, it is everywhere as just in the written words a life experience opens just before your eyes leaving you wondering and admiring the moment.

I find poetry very important in our lives and I listed a few points to prove that below:
• It is an act of peace.
• It puts the heart in a state of awareness.
• It brings out our sense of communication and discovery.
• It enlightens our understanding and the emotions of love, life, beauty and art.
• It puts the readers in a state of rethinking and rebuilding believes, sympathy and emotions.
• It makes the readers understand the echoes behind their shadows.
• It makes one feel physically and mentally on top of their problems as it brings a sense of relieve.
• It brings out ones sense of belonging in nature,
• It is a powerful force with language at its most distilled that touches the heart-Rita Dove.

Screenshot_2016-05-13-12-23-39

I just find poetry very inspirational and creative above all beautiful in words; although it cannot be defined the Merriam-Webster dictionary defines it as “something that is very beautiful or graceful.” Poetry gives us the chance to use words to express ourselves, for example take a look at the extract below from “variations on the word sleep” by Margaret Atwood:
“I would like to be air
That inhabits you for a moment only.
I would like to be that
Unnoticed and that necessary.”
With all I have said, am just trying to show how beautiful and important poetry can be and just to emphasis the fact that it’s just an evidence of life, an act of peace, an eternal graffiti written in the heart of everyone simply expressed by words.

Screenshot_2016-05-13-12-23-31

I would like to congratulate all poets for enlighten the world with their words and all those who appreciate poetry also those who would give poetry a chance, I want to let you know that you are on top of your word with poetry as it puts you in a state of serenity you’re your inner self and your outside world.

I want to end with this quote “poetry is what in a poem makes you laugh, cry, prickle, be silent, make your toe nails twinkle, makes you want to do this or that or nothing, makes you know that you are alone in the unknown world that your bliss and suffering is forever shared and forever all your own,”-Dylan Thomas.
I hope this really makes you appreciate the true nature of poetry and what to give it a try you won’t regret.#poetryislife #poetryScreenshot_2016-05-13-12-23-48

 

 

12 thoughts on “THE BEAUTY AND IMPORTANCE OF POETRY

  1. Very very descriptive! You gave your perspective and ideas on the term of poetry and I agree with it hole-heartedly. I am a visual artist but I admire beautiful art in any form and I have my own definition of the word. To me, poetry is art. Deeply, I admire and enjoy all forms of art, some more than others. But, again, poetry is a form of art in this instance poetry “reflects” the emotion and thoughts of the writer. All art expresses an idea or feeling, in my opinion and poetry does so so elegantly. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Am happy you also understand poetry and more glad that you see the beautiful side of it in art. Am grateful for your honest view and I promise to give your blog a visit once again thank you

      Like

Leave a Reply

